A Coaches Demeanor Can Be Used To Influence The Behavior Of Clients

I have worked as a probation officer, clinical social worker, medical school faculty and executive coach. After over 50 years of practice, I am in the process of succession planning with my son who will take over the family’s” Professional Corporation.

In the process of preparing my son to take over, I am attempting to determine if there are any unique skills that I may possess that have been a factor in my success. In an effort to accomplish this task, I have contacted over one hundred former psychotherapy or coaching clients.

Each former client was asked: “Can you identify in one of two words what best defines George Andersons’ psychotherapy or coaching?” Most respondents report that I exhibit a calm, casual and optimistic demeanor with a focus on solving problems. A more objective summary by CoachInsight Toolkit provides the following observations:

  •  How connected do my choachees feel to me as a coach?

Your coachees report a very strong relational connection to you. They trust and feel appreciated by you. There may be room to introduce more structure or role clarity into constructive feedback occasionally.

  •  How confident do my coachees feel in the coaching process?

Your coachees report very high levels of confidence in the coaching process. They express great confidence that they are working on the right goals, in the right way.

  •  How contented are my coachees with the out comes of coaching?

Your coachees consistently report high levels of overall satisfaction with your coaching. They tend to report somewhat lower levels of goal attainment, but it doesn’t seem to be affecting their overall satisfaction. This may simply be due to the fact that they are still working towards achieving their goals they also be a function of your coaching style or their coaching objectives.

  •  How coordinated am I with my Coachees?

 While your perception of overall goal attainment is very much in line with that of your coachees; you have a slightly higher perception regarding specific goal attainment than do your coaches. There may be opportunities to touch base with your coaches more consistently and to symmetrically assess their progress towards goals.

http://andersonservices.blogspot.com

In Summary

I firmly believe that a coaches’ demeanor can and should be actively used to positively influence the behavior of his or her coachees. Coaches who are not aware if the role that one’s demeanor may have in their professional relationships will miss the opportunities to maximize this concept. The importance of role modeling is rarely considered in coaching or psychotherapy.

George Anderson, Anderson & Anderson, APC

http://www.andersonservices.com

Leave a comment